Centre D'Histoire Sir-William-Price

1994 Rue Price
Jonquière, QC G7X 7X8
418-695-7278
418-695-7172
ADD TO ADDRESS BOOK EMAIL THE BUSINESS
Payment methods
Cash

Profile

The Sir William Price Heritage Centre
Built in 1912, the St. James the Apostle Anglican chapel held church services until the mid-1980s. On the eve of being demolished, the chapel was moved to Ball Park with the intention of using it as a museum. The Sir William Price Heritage Centre was founded in 1987, thanks to the concerted effort of citizens and the city of Jonquiere to save the Anglican chapel. The organisation’s mission is to promote heritage, including historical, architectural, urban and industrial, in Saguenay’s Jonquiere borough.

Works on Paper, Portraits of Price Brothers workers (1930-1960)
This exhibition tells the story of the thousands of employees who were the artisans of the pulp and paper empire in the mid-twentieth century. Jewel of the Canadian and Quebec economies of the time, the forestry industry not only utilized an incredible quantity of natural resources, but above all relied upon an army of unrelenting and dedicated workers. One day, senior management of Price Brothers launched a project to honour its outstanding employees. They established a program to produce and distribute pastel portraits by two artists, Kathleen Shackleton and Francesco Iacurto, who were commissioned to draw the portrait of workers having long and loyal service.
This initiative, combining art and business, is the inspiration behind this colourful exhibition, which traces the past of thousands of men engaged in a demanding job. Works on Paper is meant to be a sensitive portrayal, reflecting positively on the fundamental values of the company.

Paper Empire
The Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region bears the traces of a rich industrial history. The great adventure that is pulp and paper has greatly contributed to shaping our landscape and our identity. However, like any other industry, forestry is constantly changing, marked by highs and lows, straight lines and crossroads. A little review of the past shows how creativity is essential to the sustainability of this industry.

Walking tour
The Sir William Price Heritage Centre offers a walking tour of the former company town of Kénogami, through historic neighbourhoods housing management and workers, including several heritage buildings figuring in the city’s evolution and development.

Gift shop
The Sir William Price Heritage Centre, in cooperation with la Corporation des métiers d'art du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, has a gift shop offering souvenirs of your visit. In it you will find local hand-made creations, as well as products featuring the insignia of Kénogami’s centennial.

Opening Hours

Opening hours
From the Saint-Jean-Baptiste holiday until Labour Day: daily from 9 am to 5 pm.

Outside this period: from Monday to Friday, from 10 am to 4 pm, and june saturdays 6th & 13th

Categories

Keywords

historical sites museums museum

Photos

Centre D'Histoire Sir-William-Price in Jonquière

Other businesses you might like

Perseides Technologie

Perseides Technologie

3794 rue Saint-Félix, Jonquière QC
(418) 698-8772
Categories:
site web conception web réalisation de site internet
Centre National d'expositions

Centre National d'expositions

4160 rue du Vieux-Pont, Jonquière QC
Categories:
Check out our website

La Pulperie de Chicoutimi

300 Rue Dubuc, Chicoutimi QC
(418) 698-3100
Categories:
historical sites museums museum

Galerie Sequence

132 Rue Racine Est, Chicoutimi QC
(418) 543-2744
Categories:
musée museums museum

Centre D'Histoire Sir-William-Price

1994 Rue Price
Jonquière, QC G7X 7X8
418-695-7278
418-695-7172
AJOUTER AU CARNET D'ADRESSES ENVOYER UN COURRIEL
Modes de paiement
Argent Comptant

À propos

Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price
Construite en 1912, la chapelle anglicane St. James the Apostle accueille des offices religieux jusqu'au milieu des années 80. À l'aube de sa démolition, elle est déménagée dans le parc Ball, et ce, dans le but d'en faire un musée. Le Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price voit le jour en 1987, grâce à un effort citoyen et de Ville de Jonquière dans le but de sauver la chapelle anglicane. La mission de l'organisme est la mise en valeur du patrimoine, autant historique, architectural, urbanistique et industriel, de l’arrondissement de Jonquière de la Ville de Saguenay.

Œuvres sur papier, Portraits de travailleurs de la compagnie Price Brothers (1930-1960)
Cette exposition relate la vaste aventure de milliers d’employés qui furent les artisans de l’empire des pâtes et papier au milieu du vingtième siècle. Fleuron de l’économie canadienne et québécoise de l’époque, l’exploitation des produits de la forêt n’a évidemment pas engagé qu’un incroyable volume de ressources naturelles, mais s’appuyait aussi et avant tout sur une foule de travailleurs dévoués et acharnés. La haute direction de la compagnie Price Brothers lança, un jour, le projet d’honorer ses employés les plus méritants par la mise en place d’un programme de production et de diffusion de portraits au pastel exécutés par deux artistes, Kathleen Shackleton et Francesco Iacurto, afin de «tirer le portrait» de ces travailleurs aux longs et loyaux services.
Cette initiative, alliant art et affaires, inspira donc la ligne directrice de cette exposition haute en couleurs, qui retrace le passé de milliers d’hommes exerçant un travail exigeant. Œuvre sur papier se présente comme une expérience empreinte de sensibilité qui redonne sans doute un certain lustre à la valeur humaine dans l’entreprise.

Du culte à l'histoire
La chapelle St. James the Apostle est un joyau du patrimoine bâti. Elle est l’hôte de trois grandes histoires; celles de deux communautés, anglicane et évangélique, et d’une institution muséale.
Du culte à l’histoire est une exposition sur l’identité et la vie de communauté bien vivante.

L’exposition est située majoritairement à l’extérieur, dans le parc Ball et sur le terrain de la bibliothèque de Kénogami. La partie intérieure présente quant à elle des objets d’origine de la chapelle.

Circuit interprétatif
Le Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price offre un circuit d'interprétation historique à travers les quartiers des cadres et des ouvriers de l'ancienne ville de compagnie de Kénogami, regroupant plusieurs édifices patrimoniaux relatifs à l'évolution et au développement de la ville.

Espace boutique
Le Centre d'histoire Sir-William-Price, en étroite collaboration avec la Corporation des métiers d'art du Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, offre un espace boutique proposant des souvenirs de votre visite. Vous y trouverez des produits de création artisanale régionale en plus de découvrir les produits à l'effigie du centenaire de Kénogami.

Heures d'ouverture

Heures d’ouverture :
Haute saison: 16 juin au 4 septembre 2014
Tous les jours, de 9h à 17h

Basse saison: 5 septembre 2014 au 15 juin 2015
Du lundi au vendredi, 10h à 16h ainsi que les samedis des 6 et 13 juin 2015

Rubriques

Mots-clés

lieux historiques museums musées

Photos

Centre D'Histoire Sir-William-Price à Jonquière

Autres entreprises qui pourraient vous intéresser

Centre National d'expositions

Centre National d'expositions

4160 rue du Vieux-Pont, Jonquière QC
Rubriques :
Check out our website

La Pulperie de Chicoutimi

300 Rue Dubuc, Chicoutimi QC
(418) 698-3100
Rubriques :
lieux historiques museums musées

Galerie Sequence

132 Rue Racine Est, Chicoutimi QC
(418) 543-2744
Rubriques :
musée museums musées

Société Historique Du Saguenay

930, rue Jacques-Cartier Est, Chicoutimi QC
(418) 549-2805
archives